top of page

Week 2: It Only Gets Better

Katerina Jordan

The past week was another wild ride we went to see the ancient agora, explored the tombs of king Phillip and went to a beautiful beach. The beach had crystal clear water and beautiful scenery. The tombs were one of the most amazing exhibits I've ever seen with the tombs just exposed and still fully intact from 3/4 century. Over the past week our heritage has brought us even close together. We have explored so much and have a better understanding of the city.


Maggie Economou

This week was spent traveling back in the past to discover the history of Thessaloniki and beyond. I was appreciative of my past understanding of ancient western civilizations, and seeing antiquity come to life right before my eyes took my breath away. In particular, I enjoyed seeing the outside of King Phillip of Macedonia's tomb and chest containing his bones. I am excited to return to the states and report to my history professor about my experiences here.


In between the educational portions of this trip, I was grateful to escape for a little while with my fellow birthright scholars to the beach. Thessaloniki is a wonderful city rich with history and night life, but the trip to the beach was a much needed escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. The group stood in awe witnessing the different shades of blue of the sea. We laughed, swam, and ate all together- a prime bonding opportunity that brought us all closer together.


To be honest, the fact I am in Greece right now still has not settled in. As I walk around the city and explore with friends, I am still caught off guard every time I see the Greek flag flowing in the breeze. This has truly been a wonderful adventure thus far, and am excited to see what the city and this trip has in store for me in the days to come.


Hannah Malevitis

This past week we explored many historic sites around Greece that were beautiful beyond words. Specifically, we went to Mount Olympus and Vergina, which was the place where King Phillip the third was found. Out of the two sites my favorite has to be Mount Olympus, there was just so much history packed into there that the pictures I took won't do that place justice. Going to the museum to see the tomb of King Phillip the third was almost surreal, it's just so hard to believe that at one point in time, many years ago, King Phillip the third was laid to rest in that giant tomb. Having these amazing trips arranged makes me feel so blessed, I'm excited for what lies ahead.


Pauline Barry

This week has been very interesting, not just for me but for Greece as well. For me, I was able to visit King Phillips tomb which is amazing since I learned about him this year in a history course. Seeing the tomb gave me an unexplainable feeling, the only feeling that can compare is just pure awe, I just looked at it and could not believe that I was a mere 300 feet from the Kings tomb. Later on that day we Visited the monument of Saint Paul. This in itself is very important because he is my patron saint. I was so happy that I got to see a monument just dedicated to my saint and that he had such an impact on our Orthodox faith. After seeing the monument I bought an icon of St. Paul which to me was my name day gift to myself. On monday the day of my name day a few friends and I visited St.Demetrius for the service of St. Peter and Paul.


Going to church in Greece is simply beautiful, the marble, mosaics, and music just fill the church up with so much joy and when entering you can feel it. I bought another icon as a gift to someone very important to me and I hope they will treasure forever. Later on in the day the group went to an Archeological museum and it was very interesting to see how things progressed and were able to be preserved through time.


For Greece with the situation that is going on it is a little bit scary but to know that I am living where history is going to be created again is a pretty amazing thought. To be able and say yes I was there and be able to talk to family, friends, and professors about what it was like being there is quite mind boggling.I cannot wait to see what Greece has inshore for me next!!


Evan Platis

This past week has felt like it dragged on for two and then was gone in an instant. Lot's of crazy late nights going out, as well as staying in. I feel like I've gotten to experience most of what this town has to offer. Good food, efficient public transportation, nightlife, etc. On Thursday, in an attempt to hike up to the Phillipion Hotel on top of the mountain, we stumbled upon the public zoo instead. The zoo had lots of caged and not caged birds and animals that were surprisingly common to find in the wild and as domestic animals in the Americas. The most surprising were the caged roosters.


This past weekend was full of field trips. On Friday Nikolas took us to Aphytos in Chalkidiki for a chance to swim in the Aegean Sea. On Saturday we went to Dion where we saw many temples and an ancient roman city in ruins. The sight of Mt. Olympus was awesome and somewhat what I expected; the top was concealed by clouds just like the ancient Greeks might have seen it. We had a brief chance to hike into a canyon where we were told we could find the pool of Aphrodite and possibly jump off some rocks into the water. The trail was difficult to find and wasn't very well kept. While almost every other student turned back, two other guys and I pressed on, determined to find the pool. We probably went the most round about way to get there, passing abandoned buildings, signs with red letters probably reading "no trespassing" and losing and finding the trail at least a couple times. I don't know if we found the pool we had been told about but we finally found one. It seemed like a "locals only" spot too because we saw a couple different groups of young people hanging out there. We all jumped of a big rock into the water, which was deep enough and very cold, but still felt good on the warm summer day.


Saturday we went to Vergina where I saw one of the coolest things I've ever seen: the tomb of King Phillip, the father of Alexander the Great. The museum that was built over set the mood, it was dark and quiet and gave the feeling of being in the underworld. We were shown a couple different ruined tombs and a heroes monument and then the King's tomb. I was not prepared for such a sight. It has been kept in such good condition, it was like it was straight out an Indiana Jones film! I was a little upset that I couldn't take a photo but I understood why. Never have I seen such an incredible thing! I'm looking forward to more of our trips across the country.


Niko Argeroplos

We are approaching the 2 week mark here in Thessaloniki and I am already apprehensive about going home. I love it here. As a group we have seen so much and experienced a lot of what the city has to offer. The highlight so far for me has been traveling to Mt.Olympus and learning a little about the historical city of Dion. Some of us even hiked part way up the mountain and took a swim in a mountain spring. Speaking of swimming I have been able to enjoy two beaches so far and was blown away by the beauty of the water! We have also explored much of the city near our lodging. The tower museum stands out specifically in my mind because of its rich Byzantine history and amazing view. Classes are very interesting and our teacher Nikos is a fun and intelligent professor. Night life in Thessaloniki is amazing as well as the nights are cool and there is plenty to do downtown and by the water. Im so happy to be here and I can't wait to see what we have in store for us.


Maria Arianas

As we continue on our journey here in Thessaloniki, the adventures of each day only seem to get better and better! Over the course of this week we have seen so many archaeological sites and artifacts. We went to the ancient city of Δίον (Dion) and it was amazing to see remnants of such an old city still in existence. I had much the same feeling when we saw the ancient Roman Agora of Thessaloniki.


Βέροια (Beroia) was also a very significant stop for us because it was there that we were able to visit the Shrine of Saint Paul. What a feeling it is to realize that you are standing in the very area, even the very spot, that such an important historical figure stood centuries before you, making history. That feeling can be felt all over the historically-rich city of Thessaloniki, which has been lived in and visited by so many important historical figures.


Stephanie Plakas

This past week was filled with many new and amazing experiences. Some of the highlights of the week included trying grilled octopus for the first time, taking a boat ride and visiting the White Tower with the whole group, visiting with my cousins from Triglia, seeing Mount Olympus, going to Vergina to see the tomb of King Phillip, and finally going to Divine Liturgy at Saint Demetrios Church. All of these experiences have allowed me to learn a lot more about the history and culture of Greece. The visit to the tomb was one of the most memorable. It was amazing. The museum was underground and the tombs were where they were originally built so many years ago. My anthropology BA gave me some background about the archaeology aspects, but it was a whole new experience seeing them literally right in front of me. It gave me chills. I have also found that the people here are very kind and generous. For example, the lady that runs the Grill-O next to the hotel gave us waters, dessert, and fries for free. And when I was sick with a sore throat, my family took me to their pharmacy and bought me medicine. With another busy and enriching week done I am excited to see what this next week will hold for us!


Joanna Psyhogios

This week has been full of sight seeing and field trips! We continued to explore Thessaloniki and we have gone on many excursions outside of Thessaloniki as well. In Thessaloniki we went on top of the white tower, seen St. Demetrios and St. Gregory Church, and found the best place to eat bougatsa. We also visited the ancient agora and the Archeological Museum in Thessaloniki. The field trips that we went on were amazing. We visited Dion and got to see Mount Olympus and we went to Vergina and Veroia. My favorite excursion so far has been visited Vergina and the tomb of King Philip II and the tomb of his grandson Alexander IV. Being able to see the tomb and all the other items found there was amazing. The best part about the trip there for me though was to know that Alexander the Great was present in the same area thousands of years ago. The experience was very overwhelming and it has been my favorite part of this trip so far.


Anastasia Tryfiates

This past week has been so busy! We have been in Greece for a little over a week now. We have accomplished quite a lot in this period of time. We had our orientation to the school on Monday and began our humanities course that we are taking here. I appreciate the organization of this program because it combines the classroom material about the history and culture of Greece with field trips to various significant sites along with personal experiences that we make during free time. In class, we have covered some Greek myths and history of Thessaloniki. This fits in perfectly with our field trips, as we’ve done a lot of travelling this week to places like Dion, Mt. Olympus, Vergina, the Archeological Museum, and ruins of the ancient agoras. It was breathtaking to be standing at places that hold so much significance and have existed for over 2,000 years. One place that really moved me was our visit to the Royal Tombs of King Philip II, father of Alexander the Great, and Alexander IV, son of Alexander the Great. I can’t believe that we were able to see the actual tombs that they were buried in.


Though we’ve been busy with field trips, we still manage to have lots of time for exploring the city and going on adventures. On Wednesday we took a boat ride around the harbor and got an incredible view of Thessaloniki and the mountains behind it. After the boat ride we decided to finally climb the White Tower, a landmark and former fort and prison. Another free night a small group of us enjoyed wine tasting in the city and walking the boardwalk at night. One of my favorite experiences so far has was our trip to the beach at Afytos. The water there is beautiful—three shades of turquoise blue water that you can see straight through. It was better than any postcard could capture. The past week has been very full and I can’t wait to see what’s in store this week!


Demetra Arianas

From the time that has elapsed from last week, so much has happened here in Thessaloniki and its outskirts. The day trips we went on this week are what blew me away. Mount Olympus, Vergina, Beroia, Xalkidiki…this country, this city and its past transformed to its present continues to captivate me. I was especially happy to take pictures by the ancient temples of goddess Demeter. After we visited the ancient ruins of the gods and goddesses in the town of Dion, we made our way to a small village, Litochoro. Litochoro is located on the mountain and is nested behind trees that overlooks the Aegean Sea. We ate some great food and experienced that small village feeling that Greece possesses outside of big cities such as, Thessaloniki. This was a nice break from the busy non-stop hustle of Thessaloniki.


The next day we traveled to Vergina and the museum and tomb of King Phillip II and his grandson Alexander IV left me awestruck. We were able to see their uncovered tombs from thousands of years ago. I remember having my jaw literally drop when we saw the old door of King Phillip II tomb surrounded by the small crumpling columns hugging the side of the Macedonian crafted tomb door. Aside from that we learned about a lot of the history behind many of the museum pieces we saw. I especially liked the armor being displayed from King Phillip’s wife. Her shield looked like it was the size of me…she was a tough queen.


That night, after we made our way back to the hotel, the students of Hellenic Birthright decided to go watch the sunset on the boardwalk. While sitting there I lost my earbud, and we all started trying to pry it out of the narrow wooden boards on the boardwalk. While seeing us trying to salvage this lost earbud, countless people of Thessaloniki stepped in to help. After 15 minutes of strategy the stuck ear bud was recovered. The people of this city are so sweet...from giving us free deserts in restaurants, to pappous finding sticks for us to find lost ear buds, these Greeks make use of the word "philoxenia".


The next Sunday a small group of us decided to travel to the church of St. Demetrios. Hearing Mega Nevrato being chanted in my patron saint’s church gave me permanent goosebumps. After the literagy we venerated St. Demetrios’ relics and there was an aroma of myrrh over pouring from the small box where the silver chest lays with his relics; it was amazing.

Throughout all of the field trips, it was so nice to be surrounded by my great peers and my awesome RA, Nikola. It’s rare where you stumble upon a group of people where you instantly click so easily and can be yourself.


This week I was overcome with such feelings of happiness and amazement. I feel so blessed for having been chosen for the Hellenic Birthright program. Witnessing Greece's rich culture and history first hand makes me so proud to be a Hellene. It can't be beat.


Nicole Diamantas

Starting my second week of this Birthright journey brought a slew of new experiences and new perspectives. We went and explored Aristotle Square in Thessaloniki, as well as the White Tower and the Agora. I was amazed at how these ancient monuments and structures were incorporated into the landscape of such a flourishing modern city. In truth, I began to view it as a giant metaphor for the entire nation of Greece - a veneration for the achievements of antiquity juxtaposed with the bustling and thriving heartbeat of today's Greece. Everywhere I looked, I saw something marvelous, from the pastry shops selling hundreds of different types of desserts, to the two older Greek men aggressively haggling over the prices of oranges in the Saturday market.


Classes themselves have also been very rewarding. Our professor explained to us the very first day that he wanted us to experience Greek history and live Greek history, rather than simply read it out of a book. And experience it I have. We visited the museum and tomb of King Phillip in the city of Vergina, a place steeped in history and loaded with awe-inspiring artifacts from Ancient Greece and Macedonia. Part of me couldn't help but wonder (or wish) if King Phillip or Alexander the Great were somehow my ancient ancestors, or any of the numerous statues and tombstones depicting typical Greek aristocrats and commoners. It made me realize that all the Greeks alive today owe their existence to the people who came before them, and I felt a moment of great respect for the triumphs and tribulations of the ancient Greeks represented by artifacts in the museum.


This journey has allowed me to feel more connected to my Greek heritage than ever before. And yet, I still thirst to learn more, to see more, and to understand more about what it means to be Greek. Much like an archaeologist, the more I dig, the more I find, and I am increasingly more excited for what tomorrow might bring.


Irene Christoforou

As I watched the sun set on Thessaloniki's skyline from inside a rickety bike cart, I couldn't feel anything but happiness about the time I've already been able to spend in this amazing city. But now I could also appreciate more than just Thessaloniki as this past week gave me my first taste of the rest of Greece. These areas managed to leave me just as awestruck.

From swimming in the unbelievably blue waters of the beaches at Chalkidiki to seeing the highest point of Greece at Mount Olympus and all the awesome museums we visited in between, I am nothing but excited for all the adventures yet to come.

Jacob Gaetanos

Well I’ve been living the perfect life here in Thessaloniki for over a week. This experience has already turned into the best one of my life and we’ve only been here for a little over a week. This weekend in particular I often found myself in awe. We took a bus to Afytos Beach in Halkidiki where we spent a good part of the day hanging out on the beach and swimming in the beautiful Aegean Sea. Saturday we visited Dion and Mount Olympus, During our Mount Olympus trip I got to do a little exploring. Evan, Will and I hiked down the stream and found what looked like a picture from a postcard. Thewater was crystal clear and deep enough the jump in, luckily there was a rock next to it so I couldn’t resist the opportunity to take a plunge. The next day we Visited Vergina and Veroia, I had no clue what to expect here but this might have been my favorite part of the program thus far. We saw the second oldest tomb in the world, King Phillip and his grandson Alexander the IV, the son of Alexander the Great, this museum was filled with amazing artifacts like the golden crowns. Later in Veroia I stood at the shrine of St. Paul and just thought to myself how amazing it is that I am standing in the same area as an Apostle of Jesus Christ. I’m so thankful to be here and know that if my Yaiyai and Papou were still around, they would definitely be proud of me.


Christina Zikos

Our week began with us receiving our student IDs from the American College of Thessaloniki and a scenic drive to the campus. Its beauty in the Macedonian foothills was something to marvel at, with its abundant trees – all donated by alumni – and the nicest library voted best of the Balkans. We were greeted by the Study Abroad department’s friendly staff, who made sure we acclimate to the culture in Greece and felt welcome. We then launched into our first lecture of our course From Pagan Antiquity to Byzantine Christianity, led by an inimitable professor. As the days progressed, it struck me how special this program is: students coming together from different hometowns across the United States, with different majors and/or degrees, bonding over our shared experience in our family’s homeland. Very quickly the group became a παρέα.


Like the group’s said a number of times, the pictures just don’t do it justice. Nonetheless, I continue to walk around with a camera in hand, trying to capture the moments. I am amazed by the beauty of generous people at PanHellenic Scholarship Foundation, the beauty of this city, and the beautiful people I'm meeting. In between our generous itinerary of the week of a beautiful evening harbor boat ride, and tours Thessaloniki’s old Roman agora, the ruins of Dion at the foot of Mount Olympus, the royal tombs of the Kingdom of Macedonia, the place where St. Paul preached in Veroia, and the Archaeological Museum of Thessaloniki, we make sure to fit in trips to St. Demetrios and other churches, the Lefkos Pirgos, a beach of Chalkidiki, and to savor the flavors of the fresh bougatsa, authentic gyros, pites, frappe, and seafood. There is something for all the senses, the soul, and mind here -- and a veritable time machine to times hundreds and thousands of years into the past.


Alex Bageris

I’ve continued to explore all that Thessaloniki has to offer in the past week with the rest of the Hellenic Birthright students. We’ve discovered more fun things to do and see to allow us to experience the rich culture of Greece such as museums, restaurants, night clubs, and monuments. I’ve continued to meet genuine, interesting people all over the city. They love talking to us and getting a taste of American culture as well.


This past weekend was absolutely unforgettable. Going to Dion and Mount Olympus on Saturday was breathtaking and I was able to go exploring on the mountain with two of the other Birthright students. After some hiking and a few wrong turns, we found a small pool in the river at the base of the mountain that was crystal clear to the bottom despite being about eight or nine feet deep. We were all able to jump in off a nearby rock and go for a quick swim. It was definitely the coolest thing we have done on this trip and it is a moment I will remember for the rest of my life! Then, on Sunday we went to a museum in Vergina and saw the tombs of King Phillip and Alexander IV as well as two other raided/looted tombs. The tombs were magnificent and, in my opinion, were the coolest things we have seen thus far!


It is sad that it is almost July already and our time in Greece is flying by, but I am anticipating some amazing weeks to come in Thessaloniki along with weekend trips to Athens and Istanbul!


Zoe Gardner

When we all arrived in Thessaloniki we were surprised that there wasn't a beach nearby, so this past week we finally made the trip to Halkidiki. The bus ride to the beach was definitely worth it. The water was incredible, so clear and warm, and it was nothing like the beaches I know back home in California. We all had a lot of fun and it was a great bonding experience. This week we also traveled to the tomb of King Philip II. This museum there was extraordinary. It was the most interesting museum I've ever been to. It wasn't like a normal museum where antiquities are removed from their home and put in a building hundreds of miles away, this museum was built around the actual resting places. It was incredible to walk around and inside the actual tombs.


I'm so thankful for all we have done so far and am looking forward to our trip to Athens this weekend!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page