top of page

Week 1: A Whole New World

Maria Arianas

From the second I realized our airplane was about to land in Greece, I was overcome by a feeling of euphoria. After all these years, I was finally going to be visiting Greece, a prospect which gave me great joy and continues to do so as our group of Hellenic Birthright students conclude our third day here in the beautiful city of Thessaloniki. Being immersed in a Greek-speaking city has already given me many chances to use and practice the Greek language as I navigate the city with my new-found friends. I feel proud to be able to speak the Greek language and look forward to improving my speaking abilities during this program!


Our few days here have been spent exploring and becoming acclimated to the stunning city of Thessaloniki. Together the group walked around the city taking in interesting sites such as the Λευκός Πύργος (White Tower), the Πλατεία Αριστοτέλους (Aristotle Square), and various statues of influential Hellenic people along the way. On Sunday a group of us students was also able to attend a Greek Orthodox Liturgy at a church nearby where we are staying, and we all very much enjoyed the service along with the beauty of the church. It was so refreshing to hear the liturgy celebrated completely in Greek.


Even after so few days in this city, I already feel that when I leave it will claim a piece of my heart. I have fallen in love with the sites, food, and smells. I am happy to find that I feel completely at home in this city and cannot wait to continue to explore and learn about its rich and vast history. In addition, I can already tell that I am beginning to form meaningful friendships with many of the other participants, a connection that will only grow stronger in the coming weeks. I am thankful for all that I have already experienced here in Greece and look forward to the plethora of experiences that await us all as we continue on in this once-in-a-lifetime experience!


Pauline Barry

On the way to Greece I was feeling many emotions such as fear, happiness, and exuberance. The flights in general were very long but it was peaceful. Upon arrival in Greece I was feeling anxiety because my texting app was not working and I needed to reach my cousin. I was in a foreign country for the first time and nothing was working so I was feeling very exasperated but when I finally saw my cousin for the first time it brought such happiness to my heart.


Here I am meeting a family member for the first time and he is showing such kindness. I spoke to him over facebook and would like pictures to get to know him but nothing compares to the actual feeling of meeting Vasili. The weather when I arrived was very drab because it was raining but that did not stop my cousin and I from going out. We went on a boat ride on the pier and talked, it felt like I have known him for years. After the boat ride we went to this place called OINOS KAI PALAI where I had suvlaki, appetizers, and red wine.


The following morning is when I met my thea and other cousin for the first time and we had souvlaki and ice cream. Later on that day is when I met everyone and had twenty new friends. Walking around the city and just experiencing it with people who are also seeing it for the first time was very nice. When I was walking everything seemed so close even though it was miles away; seeing sights made everything go by so fast. Thessaloniki has this luster to it that every new tiny detail seems cared for.


On Sunday a few friends and I went to a church and just hearing the chanting gave me goose bumps. The service and church were so beautiful. I wanted to take pictures but it started raining hard and we thought it would be best that we would go on another day.


Maggie Economou

As I graduated from college this past year, a lot of time was allocated on planning for my future. I knew I wanted to travel, and in turn broaden my horizons, but did not know how to make this happen. I recall checking my email late one night and a "congratulations" subject line from an unknown email address caught my attention-I had won a scholarship to go to Greece. I was overwhelmed with happiness, but as I began panning for the trip the happiness faded and the sense of being overwhelmed became stronger. I had never traveled alone, or been away from my family for more than two weeks. I was not only leaving my comfort zone, I was taking a plane across the ocean away from it.


Most of my plane ride was a blur, and I recall stepping off the Aegean plane and feeling a sense of disbelief of being in Thessaloniki. I was comforted by hearing others in the airport speak the language I had grown up with, and although it was unfamiliar, I tried to pretend I was among family, and was connected to all the people in my surroundings by a common culture.


As I settled in to the hotel I must admit I was homesick. I was excited for this adventure but craved knowing at least one person on the trip. I never considered myself an introvert, and usually meeting new people is not challenging for me, but when it came to dealing with multiple changes at once, I was not sure how to process it all.


I was greeted by many smiling faces, and felt more at peace knowing that some of my peers felt the same as I did, no matter how much of a confident facade we tried to put on. As a large group, we walked towards the pier and all stood in disbelief on how beautiful it all was.


The following days were spent getting acclimated to my surroundings: learning good places to eat, how to use the bus, where the best place to buy my friends and family souvenirs from. Of course, this is still a work in progress but walking around the city and attempting to soak it all in has definitely helped in my transition.


I hope to continue to challenge myself linguistically while here. My expressive language could use some work but was comforted to know many shopkeepers and restaurant workers were patient with me and did their best to understand what I was trying to say. Improving my Greek is definitely a goal I have set for myself.


I look forward to all the new experiences I have in store for me: the food, the history, and all the memories left to be made. OPA!

Katerina Jordan

The first couple days have been an adventure. From when we first got to the hotel till now I have met so many people and it's been an incredible journey so far. Day one was just a day of exploring and talking to the new people that also arrived. We all connected immediately because of the instant connection of our backgrounds and loud personalities. We got to experience some Greek food and went out to explore the night life with our new found friends. The next day consisted of the city tour and get to see the culture and ruins of Thessaloniki. We also got to venture out in groups and on our on to see what the city offered. Yesterday was another adventure with climbing a castle and hanging with new people and seeing tradition concert in the mountains with a view of the city. So far in the journey we have experienced the culture and city but I look forward to having more traditional food and music.


Anastasia Tryfiates

“And welcome to Greece.” Those powerful words greeted me as we landed at the airport in Thessaloniki. It can truly be described as a magical moment as I saw the city lights of Thessaloniki contrasted against the black sky. This was it, the moment I had been waiting for. I had to keep reminding myself that I wasn’t dreaming, that what I was experiencing was truly happening.


The thing that I am most excited for in this program is the opportunity to learn about the history and culture of Greece. Having the historical context for the places that we will visit will make this trip all the more powerful. My expectation for this program is to learn about my Greek heritage and the impact it has on my identity as a Greek-American. I can’t wait to learn more about the history and customs that make up the modern Greek culture.


Even just a few days into our program we had a big adventure. A bunch of us went to the local church to worship and the weather was overcast, but not raining. During the middle of the service it started to storm outside and huge gusts of wind blew through the open doors of the church. Though this helped to cool down the building, it also caused numerous problems. We discovered that there is a leak in the roof of the church which caused water to drip through the ceiling in multiple places and down the side of the wall paintings. Although the rain had stopped when we left the service, we discovered that we had a new problem on our hands—flooding. The streets were full of rushing water! We had to walk through multiple inches of running water in our church clothes to cross the street. Though we were cold and wet, we made the most of our adventure and ended it by enjoying some warm Greek food by our hotel.


Thank you to the PanHellenic Scholarship Foundation and their supporters for funding the Hellenic Birthright Program and making this experience possible. I feel so blessed to have this opportunity to learn about my heritage and travel to Greece for the first time. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for the rest of the trip!


Hannah Malevitis

When you Google something you're not really getting the full beauty of the thing or place you are searching until you see it with your own eyes. I know before I came on this trip I would do a Google search of Thessaloniki, Greece numerous amounts of times. I just wanted to know what to expect, but once I stepped off that plane all the assumptions I created in my mind for this place went completely out the window. It's the scent of fresh fish, the richness of the frappé's and the beyond gorgeous scenery that will put your Google searches to shame. Greece is a one-of-a-kind place, pictures, websites and stories will never truly describe the beauty of this country. I'm only four days in on this adventure and I can confidently say that I will be visiting the homeland more than just this one time.

Niko Argeroplos

Landed in Greece early this weekend and have been absolutely blown away by the physical beauty of my surroundings. The weather is hot and dry and the sky is clear and blue. It seems that my yiayia was right when she said "God made Greece by sifting all the fertile sand into America and throwing the rocks to Greece!" The food has been delicious thus far and I think I had the best gyro ever yesterday. The city of Thessaloniki is very pretty and seems small because of all the neighborhoods even though it is a large place. We explored as a group the city and the hotel is conveniently located near the boardwalk and the city center. It was fun going out with everyone these last few nights and everyone is getting along great. Last night we were even able to witness a traditional festival with music and local food overlooking the entire city. Cant wait to see what else lies in store for us!

Alex Bageris

Thus far, the Hellenic Birthright program has exceeded all of my expectations. Since the moment I arrived at the airport I have been greeted kindly by many people throughout the city. It is very cool to interact with the natives of Thessaloniki as I am very interested to talk to them and learn more about the culture and everyday life here. However, it is also interesting that they enjoy talking to me about life back in the United States.


As someone who has never been outside of North America (US and Canada), this trip has been eye opening. There is an enormous amount of culture here and throughout the rest of Europe as well. My favorite aspect of the trip so far is definitely the scenery. In the US there are many industrialized cities and rural areas are mainly farmland and little lakes. In Thessaloniki, the city has more of a community feel to it and has many historic landmarks. The views are absolutely breathtaking as well. For instance, last night we went to a concert on the castle at the top of the city and sat on the castle walls. From the walls, you could see all of Thessaloniki which was an amazing view. There is a plethora of history and culture in this city and it is truly life changing to be able to experience it firsthand.


Another great cultural aspect of the city is the cuisine. I am a huge foodie, so having all of this fresh, delicious Greek food around 24/7 is like a dream come true. It is very interesting to me that pretty much the only places that are open all of the time are cafes, restaurants, and bars. Nothing I have eaten so far has been a disappointment, and surprisingly, the food at the hotel is very delicious. This is not the case with complementary meals at most hotels in the US. I have crossed a few things of my food bucket list so far such as fried feta cheese and fresh calamari however there is still plenty left for me to try.


As I said, this experience has been amazing, impactful, and life changing so far, however, it has only been 3 days and I know the next month has plenty more in store for me. I am very much looking forward to getting to explore and experience the rest that life in Thessaloniki has to offer, and I also cannot wait to check out Athens and Istanbul in the near future!


Demetra Arianas

Where do I even begin? After just spending one day in Thessaloniki I fell in love. The moment I stepped out onto the board walk near Lefkos Pyrgos I was in awe. I still have that same awestruck feeling every time I see the magnificent views that surround Thessaloniki. From the ancient ruins up north, to the various little churches hiding throughout the city, to the street lights that line the water, any picture or video I take does not do this amazing city justice.


The sightseeing is not the only aspect of this trip that has given it an amazing start; the people here are great. Everybody in our group is so down to earth. For the first four days of the trip my luggage had not arrived. Almost all of the girls offered their clothes right away. This is just one example of the great character some of my peers possess. It makes me happy knowing that I will get to share amazing moments on this trip with people like that.


As I continue with my journey I cannot help but feel so thankful for my parents and grandparents who taught me the Greek language. It has been of tremendous help to me. One person even asked me from what part of Greece I was from while conversing which was an amazing compliment to me. With that being said, I cannot wait to practice and improve with my language skills.


It has only been four days and I have already grown an even bigger love for Greece and its culture than what I had before. I know this trip will be a trip I will never forget.


Stephanie Plakas

The moment I heard the pilot announce that we had landed in Greece, the tears immediately welled up. When I found out that I received the Hellenic Birthright scholarship I could not believe that I was really going to the homeland of my ancestors. The days leading up to my flight and the first half of my journey seemed like a dream. But once I stepped off of the plane in Thessaloniki I knew that it was real and that it would be a great adventure. These first days here with the other students have been nothing short of perfect; everyone is so nice and we all have so much in common just from our heritage. I also had the opportunity to meet some of my family that lives in Thessaloniki. I know as we begin the class at ACT and continue exploring Thessaloniki and other places, we will experience many things and make memories and friendships that will last a lifetime.

Evan Platis

This weekend has felt like such a whirlwind of never ending events and activities. The first night I arrived, everyone went out on the town to experience the nightlife and to discover the city. While I didn't go out with the group, they all told me stories and it sounded like a blast. The next morning we all went out with Nikolas and he showed us how to use the bus and some of the important parts of the city that we would need access to. After the orientation, we were left to do some exploring of our own. During the night we took a boat right around the harbor, and then went to the club central where we spent the rest of the night. Last night we went up to the old ruins to watch a folk band perform. The music was fantastic and the view was breathtaking! It was such a surreal experience!


From the moment I walked out of the airport on Friday, I noticed that everyone here in Thessaloniki, locals and my fellow students, reminds me and makes me feel like my Greek family back home. When I entered the hotel, I was bombarded by at least seven of the girls all asking my name and where I came from. As far as I can tell, everyone here is so friendly and that is such a huge comfort! Today we met the faculty and our professor who both seemed just as excited and enthusiast about us being here as we are to be here. This is such a huge encouragement because if they did not seem excited or enthusiastic, I don't think it would be as much fun for us students. I am greatly looking forward to the rest of the experience!!!


Jacob Gaetanos

Surreal…this is the only word that I can think of when reflecting back on the last 4 days of my life. For the first time in my life I am experiencing firsthand the homeland of my yiayia and papou. It took about 2-3 days to sink in for me that I am actually here. It has been amazing to just walk around the city and explore everything that I possibly can. In 3 days I had been everywhere from the white tower to a concert on top of the castle at the city walls at night, and I even got to attend an Orthodox Church service…In Greece!!! It’s hard to explain the beauty here in Thessaloniki, and pictures don’t do it justice. I am so thankful that I am here getting this absolutely incredible experience.

Zoe Gardner

These first few days in the Hellenic Birthright program have been eye-opening. I can’t deny that I was nervous coming here, but now I am determined to overcome this and fully immerse myself into Greek culture. After only a few days here I’ve experienced incredible hospitality and friendliness from not only the other 20 Greek-Americans on this journey, but also from the people of Thessaloniki. Every time we speak to a local they get excited that we are Greek-Americans visiting Greece and it reminds me how lucky I am to be here.


Thessaloniki is beautiful. It feels like a huge city and a small village in one. Although the city doesn't look like the picturesque blue and white houses I think many of us were expecting, it is charming and welcoming in its own way. Every day has been exciting with unique experiences. For example, today we were able to see a gathering of Greeks voicing their desire to stay in the EU. It was one of the most peaceful gatherings of people I have seen (and going to school at UC Berkeley, I’ve seen a lot of protests), and it was really interesting to be able to hear what Greeks were thinking about an issue I’ve only read about in newspapers.


All I can say right now is that I am excited for what lays ahead. I am ready for many more walks on the boardwalk towards the White Tower, ready to study at ACT, ready to eat good food, and ready to get out of my comfort zone and connect with my Hellenic roots.

Irene Christoforou

I’ve been asked over and over again how Greece is and the only word that comes to mind is surreal. The people, the places, the food-none of it feels real. The past few days I’ve woken up to the beautiful view of a city I still can’t believe I’m in. I’ve seen pictures of myself with Thessaloniki as the backdrop and can almost swear that they must have been photo shopped. I’m not sure if and when it’ll hit me that I’m actually here and that this is only the beginning of the amazing journey ahead of me.


I’ve already fallen in love with the city and the people in it, especially with the relaxed and carefree lifestyle everyone seems to follow. I admire their “χαλαρά” attitude about everything, how kindly some of the locals have welcomed us, and the simple joy they find in just sitting and drinking a frappe with friends


Everyday has ended with me thinking that this must be the best day ever, that there is no way it could get any better. But everyday only seems to exceed the day before and leave me more in awe.

Marian Deligiannis

When I first found out that I was getting the opportunity to travel to Greece for the Panhellenic Birthright program, my emotions and level excitement could not even be measured in a set number of words or described in a way in which anyone could understand, these ideas were only the beginning of my amazing adventure to the breathtaking homeland of my ancestors. Traveling to Greece this summer was the first time I have ever traveled out of the country, yet alone traveled by myself. From O’Hare airport in Chicago, Illinois, I took off for a very long 6 hour flight to Frankfurt Germany where I was immediately immersed in a new culture and unfamiliar environment. From Frankfurt I then flew to Dusseldorf which was just as neat, and the moment I was waiting for for the past couple of months, I was then flown from Dusseldorf to Thessaloniki, Greece. This is the moment when it hit me that I was actually here, that I was about to spend a month of my summer in an entirely new country, surrounded by people of a new culture, a culture that I had strong roots connected too, and I could not contain my happiness and excitement at this point in time! Getting closer to landing I was looking outside both of the windows next to me, on one side I saw the town of what I came to love of Thessaloniki, with mountains and a plethora of buildings, water and buzzing life, on the other side it was the beautiful view of the sparkling sea. From the moment that I stepped out of the plane, all of my senses came to play. The smell of the air was fresh, and light. The sun was bright and hot on my face, and the breeze was light and cool, I never have known what love at first sight was, but the moment I stepped out of that airplane I absolutely fell in love with all of the possibilities that Thessaloniki and Greece have to offer.

My actual experience in Greece has been beyond amazing, I have never felt so blessed and lucky in my life to enjoy this opportunity! From being greeted at the airport by the friendly faces of the staff from The American College of Thessaloniki to the owners of the little bakeries and shops next to our hotel, I have never felt more welcomed in my life. Although people can spot us out and point out that we are not from here exactly, everyone is willing to talk to us and show us around or offer us any help that they can! Although we have only been here a couple days, we have done so much, and I love it! Walking the boardwalk is a favorite thing of ours so far, along with walking around Aristotle’s Square and other shops, we have been to the market, gotten coffee and gelato, attended a concert at the palace on the hill overlooking the city, ventured off and explored the nightlife, enjoyed coffee and gelato, eaten amazing, authentic Greek cuisine, attended church, enjoyed boat rides, and did I mention Greek coffee and gelato? We had our first day of class also today and it was pretty cool! Our professor and the staff at ACT are beyond wonderful and helpful and I am looking forward to this next month with them! The kids I am sharing this adventure with are also wonderful! We have all bonded so closely already, and experiencing this with other Greek-American kids is an amazing opportunity. I can’t wait to update everyone and keep sharing this amazing opportunity with you all! Until next time!

Joanna Psihogios

Arriving in Thessaloniki was a very surreal experience. I really can’t explain with words how beautiful and amazing the city is. There are just so many beautiful aspects to the city from the downtown area, the sea, and the numerous shops and restaurants. Walking around the city and getting to meet everyone has been a lot of fun. Getting to meet and know everyone has been really great and it makes being in this great city even better. I can't wait until we start to go on different trips and get to experience and see all the different sites.

Christina Zikos

Three nights into this trip of a lifetime, and I’ve already experienced so much in this unique country. Even while staring at the landscape, looking at its distinct topography and shoreline as I flew into Greece’s airspace, it was hard to believe I was finally here: the place my parents once called home.

Greeks are renowned for their hospitality, and this was indeed a first impression made. We found the delightful Miranda from ACT at the arrivals gate to greet us alongside a taxi driver, who took our bags and drove us to our hotel while making conversation. When I saw that there was a rainbow arching into the hillside and heard our driver mention that Thessaloniki was in the process of building a metro system – except only one-third of the plans had been competed due to the inconvenience of finding buried ruins during excavation – I realized that this trip would exceed any expectations that I could fathom. Then, when greeted by our friendly resident assistant Nikolas at the curb outside the hotel, and the gentleman at the front desk, I was certain I was going to be exquisitely happy to call this place home for four weeks.


I’ve been struck by so much taking in all the scenes: the feeling of exhilaration when seeing ancient and medieval structures; mesmerized by beautiful, colorful villas and apartments, the glint of the water in the gulf and the boats and ships dotting the shoreline and the horizon, and the pretty flowers and plants; experiencing the majesty of ‘the city of churches’ ; charmed by the sounds of the flap of pigeons wings, a solitary bouzouki player, the mewing of cats, the calls of vendors in the open air markets, the voices of people participating in democracy; and quite simply blown away by a Greek band performing Balkan music next to an old castle overlooking a nighttime city view.

Nicole Diamantas

When I first arrived in Thessaloniki, Greece, I was immediately awed by the soaring peaks of the mountains that filled the horizon as far as the eye could see. Because I lived in Florida, I had never seen mountains before coming to Greece, especially ones sitting right next to the sparkling blue waters of the Mediterranean. The taxi ride from the airport through the streets of Thessaloniki was my first crash course (no pun intended) into the everyday life of the average Greek citizen. I was amazed at how lively and vibrant of a city it was, which contrasted beautifully with its older and more rustic buildings. My head was swivelling in every direction, and I can remember how excited I was that I was actually in Greece.


Once I settled down at the hotel, the first order of business was to meet the fabulous people who I would be sharing this adventure with. Everyone was incredibly nice, and we quickly agreed to go exploring throughout the city. If I thought the cab ride was interesting, it was nothing compared to actually walking around. There were grafittied walls next to thousand-year-old churches, cafes and gyro stands, bakeries with handmade gelato... it was an explosion of amazing tastes, sounds, and colors, and I was so grateful that I was able to experience it. As I continue my journey in Greece, I travel forth with an open heart and an open mind, excited to learn more about the homeland of my ancestors.


James Drennen

When I finally landed in Greece after over 24 hours of flying, I still wasn’t convinced that this was actually happening. I, along with my colleagues, were pretty sure this was some elaborate dream, or plot or like the Matrix, something that would mean that we would wake up soon back in the states. Even the taxi ride into the city with all the beautiful churches , ruins, farmakeios and everything else Greek didn’t make it real. Though this may have been the case, it’s didn’t stop us from enjoying the beautiful city we have been placed in.

What I really love about this trip the most is that I get to share all these amazing experiences with a bunch of other crazy Greeks. Each of us brings something different to the table and everyone is so welcoming to that group diversity. We really just are a perfect group. Another part of this adventure that has been so important has been the people. The locals have been incredibly welcoming to us, especially this woman who runs a gyro shop next to our hotel; she honestly acts like our yiayia haha. The smile on their faces when you speak Greek to them, however broken it may be, is pretty great to see as well. All in all, this has been and incredible experience that feels both long and short at the same time. I look forwards to traveling more with this group seeing what adventures God has for us all, both in Thessaloniki and onward.

William Anagnos

My first week in Greece has been an unbelievable dream. From the first walk to the boardwalk I had not been able to comprehend where I was and how far away from home I was. I cannot believe that people live like this, right off the sea, below the montains, with a relaxed and respected community. Not to mention everything is so cheap I feel like a king, but maybe that’s just because I don’t actually live here. To be surrounded by such sights that represent The Alexander the Great is just baffling. Such ruins, history and acient archecture from so long ago is just here now for us to witness and try to embrace from how and where it all came from is hard to put into reality.


Our first boat ride out onto the Aegean sea was something else. Being from Chicago I am always around the lake, Lake Michigan, but this is something completely different. It is a SEA, no plain old lake. I have been in the middle is something so historical beyond imagine, and in only one town.


Everyone in the program is just as I had thought they’d be. Having so much in common with everyone has made us so close so fast, and being from all over the country is what makes it amazing. This town has been so kind to all of us, especialy the ones who cannot speak great well or at all. The town is amazing with its signs, architechutre and its markets. The restaurants are breath taking and everyday is a new experience. I cannot wait for the days to come.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page